Government of Nepal
Ministry of Urban Development
Department of Urban Development & Building Construction
Regional Urban Development Project
RUDP Overview
DhangadhiBhimduttaGodavariSuklaphantaSiddharthanagarNepalgunjBirgunjBiratnagar DhangadhiBheemdattaGodavariSuklaphantNepalgunjSiddharthanagarBirgunjBiratnagar

Regional Urban Development Project (RUDP), financially supported by Asian Development Bank (ADB, Loan 3566-NEP). The project is designed to set foundations for regional economic development by stimulating the economic potentials of the Project areas, and thus, help those municipalities come out as an economic corridor and urban cluster conglomeration. Additionally, the Project is expected to improve resilience and delivery of urban services in all Project municipalities and also achieve sustainable, inclusive, balanced and prosperous sub-national urban system in Nepal. The support comprises of:


  1. additional investment (AI) for the completion of ongoing infrastructure development sub-project in four municipalities: Biratnagar, Birgunj, Nepalgunj and Siddarthanagar, under implementation of Integrated Urban Development Project (IUDP: ADB L2851/G0284-NEP) and Secondary Towns Integrated Urban Environment Improvement Project  (STIUEIP: L2560-NEP(SF)); and 
  2. investment for the development of integrated urban infrastructure sub-projects in the fast-growing border municipalities of Terai Region, Province 7: Bheemdutt, Dhangadhi, Godawari and Suklaphant.


The Project approved on 22 September 2017 was signed on 27 November 2017 and became effective from 8 December 2017. The closing date of Project is 30 June 2023.


The Ministry of Urban Development (MOUD), through the project coordination office (PCO)  established  in  the  Department  of  Urban Development  and  Building  Construction (DUDBC), is the executing agency. MOUD has established the Urban Planning and Development Center (UPDC) at DUDBC. PCO is headed by a project director.


Biratnagar,  Birgunj,  Nepalgunj  and  Siddharthanagar  municipalities have each established project implementation units (PIU). For the four municipalities of Godawari, Bheemdatt, Dhangadhi and Shuklaphant in the FWR, a regional PIU (R-PIU) is established in the DUDBC Kailali Divisional Office in Dhangadhi. These 4 municipalities have set up a project implementation support unit (PISU) each headed by the municipal focal person.



Chakravarti Kanth
Project Director

Navin K. Devkota
Information Officer

Currently we have no notices to publish Read more
Google Search
© Copyright RUDP Project